Give Kudos to Local Health Reporting

Hurricane Harvey. Medicine's victories during the 85th Texas Legislature. Threats to funding for the Children's Health Insurance Program. These are just a few of the health topics that have made headlines this year.

If you've read, watched, or heard a great health news story by a Texas journalist, nominate that person for the annual TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards.

The awards — named after pioneer physician, statesman, and prolific writer Anson Jones, MD — recognize print, television, radio, and online media journalists in 12 categories, including the Texas Health Journalist of the Year.

Award winners receive $500. The journalist of the year receives $1,000.

TMA is accepting entries for the 2018 awards through December, with judging set in January. 

Email your nominations, and include the reporter's name, date of broadcast/publication, media outlet, story name, and URL. TMA will send a postcard to the reporter alerting him or her of your nomination. 

More information about the awards program, which celebrated its 60th anniversary this year, can be found on the TMA website

Action, Nov. 1, 2017

Last Updated On

November 01, 2017

Related Content

Anson Jones, MD, Awards