Have Your Say on Hospital Levels of Care for Maternity Patients

The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) and the Perinatal Advisory Council (PAC) are seeking physician input as they create rules on the levels of care hospitals must provide maternity patients.

Comments will be reviewed by DSHS and PAC and, as appropriate, incorporated into revised draft rules before being approved for publication in the Texas Register for formal public comment.

A state law that went into effect in 2013 directed DSHS and PAC to develop the hospital care levels for neonatal and maternity services. The neonatal rules took effect in June 2016. Hospitals must obtain designation by Sept. 1, 2018, in order to receive Medicaid reimbursement for neonatal services.

For maternal levels of care, the law requires HHSC to complete hospital designations by March 1, 2019. The draft rules propose four levels: 

  • Level 1 — basic/well nursery;
  • Level 2 — specialty care;
  • Level 3 — subspecialty care;
  • Level 4 — comprehensive care. 

DSHS also will hold two question-and-answer sessions on draft rules at dates to be determined. TMA will also host a conference call to discuss the draft rules and comments, though a date has not been announced.

TMA members can also email comments to Helen Kent Davis, director of governmental affairs at TMA.

Action, June 1, 2017

Last Updated On

June 01, 2017

Related Content

Womens Health