San Antonio Physicians Will Represent Texas at AMA

May 6, 2017  

Three San Antonio physicians were elected today to represent Texas doctors in the American Medical Association’s (AMA’s) House of Delegates, the national organization’s policymaking body. The Texas Medical Association’s (TMA’s) House of Delegates elected the physician leaders in Houston during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference.

David N. Henkes, MD, a pathologist in practice for 34 years, was reelected to serve as a delegate.

Jennifer R. Rushton, MD, a pathologist in practice for 10 years, was elected to serve as an alternate delegate.

Jayesh B. Shah, MD, an undersea and hyperbaric medicine specialist in practice for 23 years, was reelected to serve as a delegate.

As part of the Texas Delegation to the AMA, these delegates will take policy adopted by the TMA House of Delegates forward to the AMA House of Delegates. In addition, they will advocate on the national level for Texas patients and physicians.

All three physicians are members of the Bexar County Medical Society.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 50,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.  


Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email: brent.annear[at]texmed[dot]org

Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336; email: marcus.cooper[at]texmed[dot]org

Click here to follow TMA on TwitterOr visit TMA on Facebook.  

Check out for interesting and timely news on health care issues and policy.

Last Updated On

May 04, 2017

Originally Published On

May 04, 2017