Physician, Medical Student Journalists: Enter TMA Contest

Do you write a medical column or articles for your local newspaper or magazine? Do you host a health-focused segment on a local TV or radio station? If so, enter your work in the TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards contest.

TMA will celebrate its 60th year of honoring Texas journalists for excellent medical news reporting in 2017. The Physician Excellence in Reporting category is just for you: It recognizes physician and medical-student reporters who regularly contribute to general interest media aimed at a Texas public audience. (Eleven other award categories honor professional journalists in print, television, radio, and online media.)

Enter today. Any news story published or broadcast in 2016 is eligible. TMA will accept entries until Jan. 10, 2017. You also can nominate a colleague or a local professional journalist (nonphysician) who is an outstanding medical journalist.

Visit the Anson Jones webpage for complete contest details. If you have questions, call Tammy Wishard, TMA outreach coordinator, at (800) 880-1300, ext. 1470, or (512) 370-1470, or email ansonjones[at]texmed[dot]org.

Action, Dec. 15, 2016

Last Updated On

December 15, 2016

Related Content

Anson Jones, MD, Awards