Wanted: Your Best Local Health News of 2016

TMA's Anson Jones, MD, Awards will celebrate 60 years of honoring outstanding health journalism in 2017. Help TMA make the anniversary memorable by nominating outstanding stories from your local media that have caught your attention this year. 

TMA will alert the journalist of your nomination and enter him or her into one of the 12 award categories. It's a great way to give kudos to local journalists for their quality health news reporting. (The contest is open to Texas general-interest news outlets.)

TMA family members (physicians, medical students, TMA Alliance members, and county medical societies) can nominate Texas journalists for the Anson Jones awards. Categories cover print, television, radio, and online media. 

To nominate a journalist, simply email your nomination and include the reporter's name, name of article (if available), date of broadcast/publication, and the media outlet. Please try to include an online link to the story. 

Texas' best health and medical stories of 2016 are eligible. A Fort Worth Star-Telegram reporter won the first award in 1957.

Visit the Anson Jones webpage for contest details. If you have questions, contact Tammy Wishard, TMA outreach coordinator, at (800) 880-1300 ext. 1470, or (512) 370-1470. 

Action, Nov. 15, 2016

Last Updated On

April 20, 2018

Related Content

Anson Jones, MD, Awards