Six Houston-Area Physicians to Represent Texas at AMA

April 30, 2016

Six Houston-area physicians were elected today to represent Texas doctors in the American Medical Association’s (AMA’s) House of Delegates, the national organization’s policymaking body. The Texas Medical Association’s (TMA’s) House of Delegates elected or reelected the physician leaders in Dallas during TexMed, TMA’s annual meeting.

AMA Delegates (all were reelected to serve):

  • William H. Fleming, MD, a Houston neurologist in practice for 37 years;
  • Kenneth L. Mattox, MD, a Houston thoracic and trauma surgeon in practice for 45 years; and
  • Kevin H. McKinney, MD, a Galveston endocrinologist and internist in practice for 19 years.

AMA Alternate Delegates:

  • William S. Gilmer, MD, a Houston neurologist in practice for 28 years (reelected);
  • Elizabeth Torres, MD, a Sugar Land internist in practice for 32 years (elected); and
  • Arlo F. Weltge, MD, a Bellaire emergency medicine physician in practice for 35 years (reelected).

As part of the TMA state delegation to AMA, these physicians help make policy recommendations to the national body on behalf of Texas doctors.

Drs. Fleming, Mattox, Torres, Gilmer, and Weltge are members of the Harris County Medical Society. Dr. McKinney is a member of the Galveston County Medical Society.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 49,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.

-- 30 --

Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; Cell: (512) 656-7320; e-mail: brent.annear[at]texmed[dot]org

                 Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382 Cell: (512) 650-5336; e-mail: marcus.cooper[at]texmed[dot]org

Check out for interesting and timely news on health care issues and policy.


Last Updated On

May 06, 2016