CMS Finally Releases Stage 3 Meaningful Use Rule

After much anticipation among the medical community, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has released the meaningful use modification rule. While TMA staff members continue to comb through the rule in detail, this much is clear in regard to your meaningful use 2015 reporting:  

  • Physicians participating in the meaningful use program can attest for any continuous 90-day period from Jan. 1, 2015, to Dec. 31, 2015.  
  • The requirement for 5 percent of your patients to view, download, or transmit their health information has changed to at least one patient seen by you during the electronic health record (EHR) reporting period.  
  • The requirement for 5 percent of patients to send a secure electronic message to their physician is now a yes/no statement attesting that the secure message functionality is enabled during the EHR reporting period. 

TMA asked for relief on the patient engagement measures multiple times and is pleased to see that CMS listened.  

The rule combines modifications for meaningful use in 2015 to 2016, as well as the Stage 3 rule, which is optional in 2017 and required for all physicians in 2018. This chart shows updated objectives and measures for meaningful use 2015 through 2017. 

Physicians have until Feb. 29, 2016, to report on their 2015 meaningful use measures. 

If you have questions about the meaningful use program or other practice technologies, email TMA's Health Information Technology Department or call (800) 880-5720.

Action, Oct. 15, 2015

Last Updated On

January 25, 2016

Related Content

EHRs | EMR incentives