Give a High Five to Outstanding Health Reporting

The measles outbreak, new vaping legislation, a state Ebola action plan, the death of the SGR: These are just a few of the health stories that have made headlines in 2015. If a medical story in your hometown has caught your attention, nominate it for the TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards for excellence in health reporting.

The Anson Jones, MD, Awards recognize journalists in print, broadcast (television and radio), and online media. The Physician Excellence in Reporting category also recognizes physician journalists who write a medical column for a local newspaper or a health care blog, host a radio health show, or do a weekly medical segment on TV.

It's easy to nominate your local journalists:

  1. Email your nomination to ansonjones[at]texmed[dot]org. All we need is the reporter's name, name of article or story (if available), date of broadcast/publication, and the media outlet. Please try to include a URL. 
  2. TMA will send the reporter a postcard with a handwritten note to let the reporter know you nominated him or her and for which story.  

For more than 50 years, TMA has honored Texas journalists with the awards, named for pioneer physician Anson Jones, MD, the last president of the Republic of Texas. 

Visit the Anson Jones webpage for contest rules and an entry form. If you have questions, email ansonjones[at]texmed[dot]org or call Tammy Wishard, TMA outreach coordinator, at (800) 880-1300, ext. 1470, or (512) 370-1470.

Action, July 15, 2015

Last Updated On

October 27, 2017

Related Content

Anson Jones, MD, Awards