TMA Physicians Award Outstanding Science Teachers

TMA named six Texas science teachers winners of the 2015 TMA Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching. Three first-place prizes were awarded at TexMed 2015. Three second-place awards will be presented in upcoming local ceremonies. These educators help create tomorrow's physicians by inspiring students in the field of science.

Patricia Kassir of The Bendwood School in Houston, Joseph Morris of All Saints’ Episcopal School in Fort Worth, and Anna Loonam of Bellaire Senior High School in Bellaire are this year's elementary, middle, and high school first-place winners, respectively. TMA awards each top recipient a $5,000 cash prize, and each winner's school receives a $2,000 resource grant toward its science programs.

Ms. Kassir teaches the gifted and talented program for medical science to grades 3-5; Mr. Morris teaches seventh-grade life science; and Mrs. Loonam teaches advanced placement biology.

Second-place winners are Laura Wilbanks of Whiteface Elementary School in Whiteface, Carol Raymond of E.A. Young Academy in North Richland Hills, and Theresa Lawrence of Friendswood High School in Friendswood. Second-place winners' schools each receive a $1,000 resource grant to enhance science classroom learning.

TMA believes encouraging excellent science teaching is important, as only 32 percent of Texas eighth-graders have achieved proficiency in science, according to the National Science Foundation's Science and Engineering Indicators 2014 report. 

Science professionals from The University of Texas Charles A. Dana Center chose finalists from all the nominees, and physicians from TMA's Educational Scholarship, Loan, and Awards Committee selected the winners. 

The TMA Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching are supported by the TMA Foundation, the philanthropic arm of TMA, thanks to an endowment established by Dr. and Mrs. Butler, of Austin, and additional gifts from physicians and their families.

Action, May 15, 2015

Last Updated On

May 08, 2016

Related Content

TMA Foundation | TexMed