Passionate Professor Wins Distinguished Service Award

A real giant of American medicine received TMA's Distinguished Service Award, a well-deserved crown for a lifetime of leadership. "I regard this award not only as a tribute to my own contributions, but also as a recognition of the achievements and performance of my students, house staff, and fellows," said Donald W. Seldin, MD, who helped build The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School from a ramshackle cluster of buildings to an institution that has spawned six Nobel Prize winners. 

In testimony to the long reach of his 60-year teaching career, half the members of the TMA House of Delegates stood to indicate that Dr. Seldin had been an influence in their medical education. 

Other awards presented at TexMed 2015 included these: 

  • Jose Manuel de la Rosa, MD, of El Paso, received the Platinum Award, the top honor in the TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine program.
  • The Young Physician Section presented its Young at Heart Award to Arlo Weltge, MD, of Houston.
  • The Resident and Fellow Section presented its J.T. "Lamar" McNew, MD, Award for outstanding mentoring and service to young physicians to San Antonio neurosurgeon David Jimenez, MD.
  • The Medical Student Section gave its Chapter of the Year Award to The University of Texas Medical School at Houston (UTHealth Medical School) chapter; its Student of the Year Award to Kayla Riggs, a UTHealth Medical School student; and the C. Frank Webber, MD, Award to Russell Kridel, MD, of Houston, for his commitment to mentoring medical students.

Action, May 15, 2015

Last Updated On

May 13, 2015

Related Content

Leadership | TexMed