2015-2017 TMAF Officers

New Officers Take Helm

The Texas Medical Association Foundation (TMAF) elected officers at its meeting Thursday, April 30, in Austin. The officers will serve a two-year term.

Deborah A. Fuller, MD, an obstetrician/gynecologist in private practice in Dallas, was elected president. She is a former chair of TMA’s Council on Health Promotions and currently serves on TMA’s Council on Constitution and Bylaws. Dr. Fuller is active in the Dallas arts community and in her Southern Methodist University sorority, Chi Omega. She is an associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology at Texas A&M teaching medical students rotating at Baylor University Medical Center. Dr. Fuller is a graduate of The University of Texas Medical Branch and is a past chair of its Alumni Board.

“ ‘Improving the health of all Texans’ is the key objective of the TMA and the TMA Foundation,” said Dr. Fuller. “I am honored and excited, as incoming president of the TMA Foundation, to work together toward the goal of healthier Texans. I hope to carry this message forward as the foundation works closely with new TMA and TMAA leadership to expand support of current and new health improvement initiatives.”

Carl O. Trusler, MD, a retired family physician in Abilene, was elected vice president. Dr. Trusler is a past president of the Abilene Diagnostic Clinic and a past member of the boards of directors for Abilene Regional Medical Center and the West Texas Rehabilitation Center. He previously served on numerous TMA committees and councils and as a Lieutenant Commander for the United States Naval Reserve and was a navy flight surgeon.

Mary Love (Bitsy) Henderson, of Austin, was elected secretary. She is a principal at Henderson Mallory Partners, a resource development consulting company that provides a broad range of fundraising services. Ms. Henderson served for 17 years as dean and faculty of the Fundamentals of Healthcare Resource Development Track at the Association for Healthcare Philanthropy’s (AHP) Institute for Philanthropy. She is a Fellow of AHP, the highest level of accreditation for professionals in healthcare philanthropy. Ms. Henderson currently co-chairs the TMAF Development Committee.

James A. Prentice, MD, a retired anesthesiologist from Austin, was re-elected treasurer. Dr. Prentice is a former president of the Travis County Medical Society and served in the United States Air Force Medical Corps. He serves on the UT Austin Development Board, St. David’s Foundation Board of Trustees, the UT Foundation board, and on the Austin Symphony Board of Directors. Dr. Prentice also chairs the TMAF Finance Committee.

D’Anna Wick, of Tyler, was elected Executive Committee Member-at-Large and will serve a one-year term. She is a past president and current board member of the TMA Alliance. Ms. Wick has served on the TMAF board since 2012 and has been its secretary. She is a past president of the Junior League of Tyler and former executive director of The Hospice of East Texas. Ms. Wick also was approved to serve as the new Grants Committee chair of TMAF.


Last Updated On

May 08, 2015