Houston Emergency Physician Elected Vice Speaker of TMA’s House of Delegates

May 2, 2015


Houston emergency physician Arlo Weltge, MD, MPH, today was elected vice speaker of the Texas Medical Association (TMA) House of Delegates, the association’s policymaking body. Delegates elected him during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, in Austin.

“The connection to the grassroots issues of our members and the patients we serve is key to our effectiveness as an organization,” said Dr. Weltge. “We must continue working together to set policy that drives our ability to provide the best care to our patients and best service to our members.”

During his 35 years as a physician, Dr. Weltge has been an active member of his local county medical society, TMA, and the American Medical Association (AMA). Currently he chairs the TMA Council on Constitution and Bylaws and is a member of TMA’s Council on Legislation End of Life Subcommittee, and he has been a member of the TMA House of Delegates for 15 years.

In addition, Dr. Weltge serves on the Board of Directors of TEXPAC, TMA’s political action committee, chairs the TEXPAC Candidate Evaluation Committee, and serves on the TEXPAC Membership Committee. Dr. Weltge is an alternate delegate to the AMA and chairs the Harris County Medical Society Delegation to TMA.

Dr. Weltge practices emergency medicine at Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center, a Level I trauma center, and the Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital. The board-certified emergency physician is a clinical professor and faculty member in the Emergency Medicine Residency program at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston (UTHealth Medical School), and serves as medical director for the Emergency Medical Services program at Houston Community College.

Dr. Weltge served as speaker and vice speaker for the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) from 2007 to 2011 and has served on its Board of Directors. In 2014, he received the John A. Rupke Legacy Award for his lifelong commitment to ACEP.

Dr. Weltge also has served as president of the Texas College of Emergency Physicians.

In Houston, he serves on the Board of Trustees for the Star of Hope Mission for homeless residents.

Dr. Weltge received his medical degree from UTHealth Medical School, and in 2013, received its Distinguished Alumnus Award. He completed his residency at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, and received his master of public health degree from the UTHealth School of Public Health.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 48,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.

-- 30 –

Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; Cell: (512) 656-7320; e-mail: brent.annear[at]texmed[dot]org

Steve Levine (512) 370-1380; Cell: (512) 750-0971; email: steve.levine[at]texmed[dot]org

 Click here to follow TMA on Twitter. Or visit TMA on Facebook.

Last Updated On

May 06, 2016