Texas Medical Students Honor Houston Physician

May 2, 2015  

Aspiring physicians presented Houston physician Russell W.H. Kridel, MD, the 2015 C. Frank Webber, MD, Award for his commitment to mentoring medical students. Dr. Kridel was recognized by the Texas Medical Association (TMA) Medical Student Section today during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, in Austin.  

“It is a great honor and privilege to receive this recognition from the TMA Medical Student Section,” said Dr. Kridel. “All I have ever done with medical students is recognize their incredible energy, enthusiasm, caring spirits, and brilliant minds, and try to give them the opportunities they so well deserve.

“I am very grateful and humbled by this award also because of the great physician for whom it is named: C. Frank Webber, who was a mentor to me. He encouraged me to pursue community involvement and political action in medicine when I was just starting out in practice,” said Dr. Kridel.

Dr. Kridel is a board-certified facial plastic surgeon in private practice. He also is a clinical professor and director of the Division of Facial Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston (UTHealth Medical School).

Dr. Kridel is “clearly student focused, especially for students involved in organized medicine,” said nominating medical student David Savage, from UTHealth Medical School. “I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know Dr. Kridel over the past three years, and I have heard many stories from other students in Houston about how he has helped their careers or promoted their aspirations in community service,” added Mr. Savage.

Mr. Savage recalls telling Dr. Kridel of a health fair he was planning for refugees in Houston. Dr. Kridel asked to be told when that event would take place, which Mr. Savage did. “Much to my surprise, Dr. Kridel came to the United Way agency where we were working and stayed for over an hour to meet the volunteers,” said Mr. Savage. “This was a great indication of Dr. Kridel’s sincere interest in students and community service.”

Organized medicine has long been a passion of Dr. Kridel’s from the local Harris County Medical Society (HCMS) to TMA to the American Medical Association (AMA), as well as his specialty organizations. He is a former president of the Student American Medical Association (now the American Medical Student Association), Harris CMS, TMA Foundation Board of Trustees, Houston Society of Otolaryngology, and American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. Currently, Dr. Kridel serves on the TEXPAC Board of Directors, AMA Board of Trustees, and AMA Foundation Board of Trustees.

Dr. Kridel is a founder and president of The Face Foundation, which provides no-cost reconstructive facial plastic surgery to victims of domestic violence. In 2014, he received the Texas Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Bluebonnet Award for significant contributions to the advancement of nutrition and dietetics in Texas. 

Dr. Kridel is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He received his bachelor’s degree in political science from Stanford University. He is a graduate of the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, and completed residencies in surgery and otolaryngology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. He also completed a fellowship in facial plastic surgery. 

Created in 1987, the C. Frank Webber, MD, Award is named after the late Texas family physician and educator C. Frank Webber, MD, former dean of The University of Texas Medical School at Houston. Dr. Webber’s efforts prompted the development of the strong student organization within TMA.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 48,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans. 

-- 30 --

Contact:  Steve Levine (512) 370-1380; Cell: (512) 750-0971; e-mail: steve.levine[at]texmed[dot]org

Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; Cell: (512) 656-7320; e-mail: brent.annear[at]texmed[dot]org

Last Updated On

March 21, 2018

Related Content

TMA Meetings