CMS: How to Report Only Once for PQRS, Meaningful Use, Other Programs

According to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), physicians who are beyond their first year of participation in the Medicare electronic health record (EHR) incentive program have the option to streamline their reporting efforts and report quality data only once for several Medicare quality programs. 

In 2014, physicians may submit data one time and receive credit for several Medicare quality programs. Depending on eligibility, physicians and group practices may report on a single set of clinical quality measures (CQMs) as required by meaningful use and satisfy the requirements for: 

  • Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS),
  • Value-based payment modifier (VM),
  • Medicare EHR incentive program,
  • Medicare shared savings program accountable care organization (ACO),
  • Pioneer ACO, and
  • Comprehensive Primary Care Initiative (CPCI).

Physicians should contact their EHR vendors to discuss this reporting option. To receive credit for these programs, physicians must submit data from Jan. 1 through Dec. 31, 2014. The deadline for submission is Feb. 28, 2015. The CMS website has details about CQMs, including a complete list of the 64 measures and their respective National Quality Strategy domain. 

Physicians who choose to use this method will earn the 2014 PQRS bonus payment and avoid the 2016 PQRS penalty. Physicians also will satisfy the CQM requirements for the other programs, if eligible. 

CMS provides these resources to help you learn how to report data one time for the 2014 program year: 

For more information about the Medicare EHR incentive program, contact the CMS Electronic Health Record Information Center by phone, (888) 734-6433, or visit the CMS website. You can also contact the TMA Knowledge Center by phone, (800) 880-7955, or email.

Action, Dec. 1, 2014

Last Updated On

April 19, 2018

Related Content

PQRS | Quality of Care