TEXPAC Announces March 4 Primary Endorsements

Feb. 7, 2014  

AUSTIN – The Texas Medical Association’s (TMA’s) political action committee, TEXPAC, today announced its endorsements for the March 4 primaries. “These are the women and men who won the endorsement of their local physicians, which is essential to earn TEXPAC support. We believe these candidates will work to help TMA improve care for all of our patients,” said TEXPAC Chair Jerry Hunsaker, MD.

TEXPAC’s list contains 125 endorsed candidates for the March 4 party primaries. The endorsed slate of candidates includes six TMA member physicians and one member of the TMA Alliance, TMA’s volunteer organization. “Some of these candidates we have worked alongside for decades, while others are exciting newcomers who will be great patient advocates,” added Dr. Hunsaker.

“TMA has a great record of advocating for patients,” Dr. Hunsaker said. “And we believe these candidates will work hard to improve Texas’ health care and business climate, protect the patient-physician relationship, and reduce red tape and administrative hassles that increase costs for patients, their physicians, and taxpayers.”

TEXPAC-endorsed candidates for the March 4 party primaries:


U.S. senator: John Cornyn (R)
Lieutenant governor: David Dewhurst (R)
Attorney general: Dan Branch (R) (open seat)
Comptroller of public accounts: Harvey Hilderbran (R) (open seat)

Supreme Court of Texas

Chief Justice: Nathan Hecht (R)
Place 6: Jeff Brown  (R)
Place 7: Jeffrey Boyd  (R)
Place 8: Phil Johnson  (R)

Courts of Appeals

Third Court of Appeals (Austin), Place 2: Jeff Rose (R)   
Ninth Court of Appeals (Beaumont), Place 3: Leanne Johnson (R)

Texas Senate

SD 1: Kevin Eltife (R-Tyler)
SD 2: Bob Deuell, MD (R-Greenville)
SD 3: Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville)
SD 4: Brandon Creighton (R-Conroe) (open seat)
SD 10: Mark Shelton, MD (R-Fort Worth) (open seat)    
SD 14: Kirk Watson (D-Austin)
SD 15: John Whitmire (D-Houston)
SD 16: John Carona (R-Dallas)
SD 17: Joan Huffman (R-Houston)
SD 23: Royce West (D-Dallas)
SD 25: Donna Campbell, MD (R-New Braunfels)
SD 31: Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo

Texas House of Representatives

HD 4: Lance Gooden (R-Athens)
HD 6: Skip Ogle (R-Tyler) (challenger)
HD 8: Byron Cook (R-Corsicana)
HD 9: Chris Paddie (R-Marshall)
HD 11: Travis Clardy (R-Nacogdoches)
HD 12: Kyle Kacal (R-Pearland)
HD 13: Lois Kolkorst (R-Brenham)
HD 14: John Raney (R-Bryan)
HD 15: Bruce Tough (R-The Woodlands) (open seat)    

Texas House of Representatives

HD 18: John Otto (R-Dayton)
HD 20: Marsha Farney (R-Georgetown)
HD 22: Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont)
HD 24: Greg Bonnen, MD (R-Friendswood)
HD 25: Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton)
HD 27: Ron Reynolds (D-Missouri City) 
HD 28: John Zerwas, MD (R-Richmond)
HD 30: Geanie Morrison (R-Victoria)
HD 31: Ryan Guillen (R-Rio Grande City)
HD 32: Todd Hunter (R-Corpus Christi)
HD 34: Abel Herrero (D-Robstown)
HD 35: Oscar Longoria (D-Mission)
HD 36: Sergio Muñoz (D-Palmview)
HD 37: Rene Oliveira (D-Brownsville)
HD 38: Eddie Lucio III (D-Brownsville)
HD 39: Mando Martinez (D-Weslaco)
HD 40: Terry Canales (D-Edinburg)
HD 41: Bobby Guerra (D-Mission)
HD 42: Richard Raymond (D-Laredo)
HD 43: J.M. Lozano (R-Kingsville)
HD 44: John Kuempel (R-Seguin)
HD 46: Dawnna Dukes (D-Austin)
HD 47: Paul Workman (R-Austin)
HD 48: Donna Howard (D-Austin)
HD 49: Elliott Naishtat (D-Austin)
HD 51: Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin)
HD 50: Celia Israel (D-Austin)
HD 52: Larry Gonzales (R-Round Rock)
HD 53: Rob Henneke (R-Kerrville) (open seat)    
HD 54: Jimme Don Aycock (R-Killeen)
HD 55: Ralph Sheffield (R-Temple)
HD 57: Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin)
HD 59: J.D. Sheffield, DO (R-Gatesville)
HD 60: Jim Keffer (R-Eastland)
HD 64: Myra Crownover (R-Denton)
HD 66: Glenn Callison (R-Plano) (open seat)
HD 70: Scott Sanford (R-McKinney)
HD 71: Susan King (R-Abilene)
HD 72: Drew Darby (R-San Angelo)
HD 73: Doug Miller (R-New Braunfels)
HD 74: Poncho Nevarez (D-Eagle Pass)
HD 75: Mary Gonzalez (D-Clint)
HD 76: Naomi Gonzalez (D-El Paso)
HD 77: Marisa Marquez (D-El Paso)
HD 78: Joe Moody (D-El Paso)
HD 79: Joe Pickett (D-El Paso)
HD 80: Tracy King (D-Batesville)
HD 81: Austin Keith (R-Odessa) (open seat)
HD 82: Tom Craddick (R-Midland)

Texas House of Representatives

HD 85: Phil Stephenson (R-Wharton)
HD 86: John Smithee (R-Amarillo)
HD 87: Four Price (R-Amarillo)
HD 88: Ken King (R-Canadian)
HD 90: Lon Burnam (D-Fort Worth)
HD 92: Andy Cargile (R-Hurst) (challenger)
HD 94: Diane Patrick (R-Arlington)
HD 95: Nicole Collier (D-Fort Worth)
HD 99: Charlie Geren (R-Fort Worth)
HD 100: Eric Johnson (D-Dallas)
HD 101: Chris Turner (D-Arlington)
HD 103: Rafael Anchia (D-Dallas)
HD 104: Roberto Alonzo (D-Dallas)
HD 107: Ken Sheets (R-Dallas)
HD 109: Helen Giddings (D-Dallas)
HD 110: Toni Rose (D-Dallas)
HD 111: Yvonne Davis (D-Dallas)
HD 112: Angie Chen Button (R-Garland)
HD 114: Jason Villalba (R-Dallas)
HD 115: Bennett Ratliff (R-Coppell)
HD 116: Trey Martinez Fischer (D-San Antonio)
HD 117: Philip Cortez (D-San Antonio)
HD 118: Joe Farias (D-San Antonio)
HD 119: Roland Gutierrez (D-San Antonio)
HD 120: Ruth Jones McClendon (D-San Antonio)  
HD 121: Joe Straus (R-San Antonio)
HD 122: Lyle Larson (R-San Antonio)
HD 123: Mike Villarreal (D-San Antonio)
HD 124: Jose Menendez (D-San Antonio)
HD 125: Justin Rodriguez (D-San Antonio)
HD 127: Dan Huberty (R-Houston)
HD 128: Wayne Smith (R-Baytown)
HD 131: Alma Allen (D-Houston)
HD 133: Jim Murphy (R-Houston)
HD 134: Sarah Davis (R-West University Place)
HD 136: Tony Dale (R-Cedar Park)
HD 137: Gene Wu (D-Houston)
HD 139: Sylvester Turner (D-Houston)
HD 140: Armando Walle (D-Houston)
HD 141: Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston)
HD 142: Harold Dutton (D-Houston)
HD 143: Ana Hernandez Luna (D-Houston)
HD 144: Mary Ann Perez (D-Houston)
HD 145: Carol Alvarado (D-Houston)
HD 146: Borris Miles (D-Houston)
HD 147: Garnet Coleman (D-Houston)
HD 148: Jessica Farrar (D-Houston)
HD 149: Hubert Vo (D-Houston) 

TEXPAC speaks on behalf of more than 47,000 Texas physicians and medical students, and nearly 5,000 alliance members. Organized in 1962, TEXPAC is one of the oldest political action committees in Texas. TEXPAC also is one of the largest bipartisan PACs in the state and ranks first in size among other state medical association PACs.

- 30 -

TEXPAC contact: Clayton Stewart 
Phone: (512) 370-1365
Clayton Stewart 

Contact: Pam Udall 
Phone: (512) 370-1382 
Cell: (512) 413-6807 
Pam Udall 

Contact: Brent Annear
Phone: (512) 370-1381
Cell: (512) 656-7320
Brent Annear