ICD-10 Testing Coming in March

Medicare will conduct national tests for submitting claims using the ICD-10 coding system March 3-7. Starting Oct. 1, 2014, you must begin using the ICD-10 system on claims to Medicare and all other payers or you will not be paid.

You must register to take participate in the test.

The testing will give you access to the Novitas Common Electronic Data Interchange (CEDI) for testing with real-time help desk support. Here's what you can expect:

  • Test claims with ICD-10 codes must be submitted with current dates of service (Oct 1, 2013, through March 3, 2014), since testing does not support future dated claims. 
  • Test claims will receive the 277CA or 999 acknowledgement to confirm that the claim was accepted or rejected. 
  • Testing will not confirm claim payment or produce remittance advice. 
  • Novitas and CEDI will be staffed to handle increased call volume during this week.  

Call (855) 252-8782 for more information.

TMA offers information to help you make the transition to ICD-10 on the TMA website. It includes answers to frequently asked questions, detailed timelines and checklists, an on-demand webinar, questions you need to ask your electronic health record vendors, and access to transition software.

Novitas also has transition resources on its website.

TMA Practice E-Tips main page