What Different Kinds of Insurance Can I Buy?

There are different kinds of insurance plans you can buy depending on how much you want to spend, the medical services you need for you and your family, and how many doctors and hospitals you want to choose from. Some plans, for example, only let you use the doctors that are in their networks; otherwise, you pay more.

 Others might require you to get a referral from your regular doctor before you get other specialized treatments. You can read up on Healthcare.gov and BeCoveredTexas.org about the different kinds of insurance plans out there.

The marketplace also puts these different kinds of insurance plans into four categories: bronze, silver, gold, and platinum. The categories are based on the amount of coverage the insurance company provides for your health care, and your portion of the costs. But again, any plan in any of those categories still has to offer essential benefits. The difference is how you and your insurance company share the costs of that care.

There is a fifth option, too, called “catastrophic insurance.” But it’s only for certain people, and it doesn’t cover everything.

"Hey, Doc" main page


Last Updated On

November 24, 2014

Related Content

Hey Doc