TMA Honors Science Teachers

TMA and the TMA Foundation will honor deserving Texas educators again in 2014 with the Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching.

Three Texas science teachers will receive $5,000 each and an expense-paid trip to TexMed 2014 in Fort Worth in May. Their schools will receive $2,000 awards to use toward the science curriculum. In addition, second-place winners receive $500 for their schools.

The annual awards recognize and reward elementary, middle, and high school teachers who share their energy and enthusiasm for science with their students, as innovative teaching supports the basic premise of medicine – that health care has a scientific foundation.

Who is eligible? All Texas state-certified, full-time public and private school science teachers with a minimum of two years of classroom experience who will return to teach during the 2014-15 school year. All areas of science are welcome.

To nominate science teachers or to apply, visit the TMA website, where you will find more information and the appropriate forms. The deadline for nominations is Oct. 19; for applications, Dec. 28. TMA will ask all nominees to complete an online application packet.

Questions? Email Gail Schatte at TMA, or call her at (800) 880-1300, ext. 1600, or (512) 370-1600.

The awards are supported by the TMA Foundation thanks to an endowment established by Dr. and Mrs. Ernest C. Butler of Austin; Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas, which has generously supported the program for nine years; Dr. Gerard and Mrs. Carrie Ventura of Nacogdoches, who have supported the program for two years; and the Potter-Randall County Medical Society in Amarillo. 

Action, Sept. 4, 2013