El Paso Physicians Tapped for TMA Leadership Roles

June 14, 2013 



Three El Paso physicians have accepted leadership positions within the Texas Medical Association (TMA). TMA physicians and medical students who are appointed or elected to one of TMA’s 30 boards, councils, and committees are responsible for studying and recommending action on important issues affecting Texas patients and health care policy. 

Richard W. McCallum, MD, a gastroenterologist, was elected to TMA’s Council on Medical Education. The council coordinates TMA’s medical education activities, studies the physician workforce, accredits continuing medical education activities, and monitors physician licensure and credentialing. 

Roxanne M. Tyroch, MD, an internist and hospitalist in practice for 18 years, was elected to TMA’s Council on Legislation. The council develops and implements legislative policies at the state and national levels, to improve medicine and patient care.  

Juan Escobar, MD, who has practiced cardiology for 18 years, was appointed to TMA’s Committee on Professional Liability. The committee follows trends, conducts educational campaigns, and works with TMA members to preserve medical liability reform. 

These physicians are members of the El Paso County Medical Society. 

 TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 47,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 112 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.    

-- 30 -- 

Click here to follow TMA on TwitterOr visit TMA on Facebook. 

Contact: Pam Udall
phone: (512) 370-1382
cell: (512) 413-6807

Pam Udall  


Contact: Brent Annear
phone: (512) 370-1381
cell: (512) 656-7320

Brent Annear