Denton-Area Physicians Tapped for TMA Leadership Roles

June 14, 2013 



Two Denton physicians have accepted leadership positions within the Texas Medical Association (TMA). TMA physicians and medical students who are appointed or elected to one of TMA’s 30 boards, councils, and committees are responsible for studying and recommending action on important issues affecting Texas patients and health care policy. 

John G. Flores, MD, a Little Elm internist, was appointed chair of TMA’s Council on Health Service Organizations. The council makes recommendations and takes action relative to all patient-care facilities, including emergency departments; ambulatory surgery centers; hospitals; and skilled nursing, long-term-care, assisted living, hospice, home care, and other treatment facilities. 

Susan C. Torrie, MD, a Denton pediatrician, was appointed to TMA’s Committee on Physician Health and Rehabilitation. The committee provides support and outreach related to the treatment and rehabilitation of physicians with impairments. 

Both physicians are members of the Denton County Medical Society.  

 TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 47,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 112 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.    

-- 30 -- 

Click here to follow TMA on TwitterOr visit TMA on Facebook. 

Contact: Pam Udall
phone: (512) 370-1382
cell: (512) 413-6807

Pam Udall  


Contact: Brent Annear
phone: (512) 370-1381
cell: (512) 656-7320

Brent Annear