Transition to ICD-10: Testing

On Oct. 1, 2015, ICD-10 codes will replace ICD-9. Clearinghouses can help your transition by testing that you can submit claims with ICD-10 codes, identifying the problems that lead to rejections, and providing guidance about how to fix a rejected claim (e.g., you need to include more or different data).

Your practice or clearinghouse can conduct acknowledgement testing at any time with Novitas Solutions, the Medicare administrative contractor for Texas. During a special “acknowledgement testing” week to be held in June 1-5, 2015, you will have access to real-time help desk support. In addition, Medicare will conduct end-to-end testing July 20-24. For details, see Novitas' ICD-10 Implementation webpage.

Because ICD-10 describes a medical diagnosis or hospital inpatient procedure, your practice (or third-party billing/coding service) must select the right codes based on relevant clinical documentation. Thus the key to using ICD-10 successfully will be documenting those elements in the medical record needed to support the specificity of the new codes. Physicians and coding staff should determine which ICD-10 codes they will most use in their practice and become familiar with them and the documentation needed to support them.

Follow Payer ICD-10 News

Keep an eye on your payers’ websites for their ICD-10 news and updates:

You’ll also want to bookmark TMA’s ICD-10 resource page for tools, training, tips, and news. 

Revised May 5, 2015

  TMA Practice E-Tips main page  


Last Updated On

May 05, 2015

Related Content

Coding | ICD-10