San Antonio Physicians Take TMA Leadership Roles

May 18, 2013

Six San Antonio physicians have been elected to leadership positions — within the Texas Medical Association (TMA) and representing TMA at the American Medical Association (AMA). The physicians were elected today during TMA’s annual conference in San Antonio.

TMA elected Donald J. Gordon, MD, PhD, a Helotes emergency physician, to its Board of Councilors ethical policymaking panel. Carlos P. De Juana, MD, a Canyon Lake urologist, was reelected as councilor. K. Ashok Kumar, MD, a San Antonio family physician, was elected as a vice councilor.

TMA reelected these physicians to represent Texas on AMA’s House of Delegates, its policymaking body: Sheldon G. Gross, MD, a San Antonio child neurologist, and David N. Henkes, MD, a San Antonio pathologist.
Jayesh B. Shah, MD, San Antonio undersea and hyperbaric medicine specialist, was reelected as an alternate delegate to AMA.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 47,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 112 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans. 

-- 30 --

Contact: Pam Udall (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 413-6807; email:
Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email:  

 Click here to follow TMA on Twitter. Or visit TMA on Facebook.