TMA Elects Houston-Area Physicians as Delegates to the American Medical Association

May 18, 2013

The Texas Medical Association (TMA) elected five Houston-area representatives to the American Medical Association (AMA) House of Delegates, its policymaking body. The physicians were elected today during TMA’s annual conference in San Antonio.

Diana L. Fite, MD, Tomball emergency physician, was elected as a delegate to AMA.

Elected as AMA alternate delegates were: William S. Gilmer, MD, a Houston neurologist, Maryam Shambayati, DO, a resident physician in Houston; and Benjamin Karfunkle, a student at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston. 

Kevin H. McKinney, MD, a Galveston endocrinologist, was reelected as an alternate delegate.   

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 47,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 120 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.

-- 30 -- 

Contact: Pam Udall (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 413-6807; email:
Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email:  

Click here to follow TMA on Twitter. Or visit TMA on Facebook.