East Texas Physicians Take TMA Leadership Roles

May 18, 2013

Three East Texas physicians have been elected to leadership positions — within the Texas Medical Association (TMA) and representing TMA at the American Medical Association (AMA). The physicians were elected today during TMA’s annual conference in San Antonio.

TMA elected Louis J. Kirk III, MD, a Judson obstetrician-gynecologist, to its Board of Councilors ethical policymaking panel. Charles W. Akins, MD, a College Station ophthalmologist, was reelected to the Board of Councilors.

TMA reelected Lyle S. Thorstenson, MD, a Nacogdoches ophthalmologist, to represent Texas as a delegate on AMA’s House of Delegates, its policymaking body.
TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 47,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 112 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans. 

-- 30 --

  Contact: Pam Udall (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 413-6807; email: pam.udall@texmed.org 
Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email: brent.annear@texmed.org 

Click here to follow TMA on Twitter.Or visit TMA on Facebook.