TEXPAC Scores Big Election Wins

The Nov. 6 election was another successful one for the Texas Medical Association Political Action Committee as Texas voters elected a record seven TMA and TMA Alliance members to the Texas Legislature.

Sen. Robert Deuell, MD (R-Greenville), was reelected to the Texas Senate, while Rep. Charles Schwertner, MD (R-Georgetown), and Donna Campbell, MD (R-New Braunfels), were elected to their first Senate terms.

In House elections, Rep. John Zerwas, MD (R-Simonton), and Rep. Susan King, a TMA Alliance member, won new terms. Newcomers Greg Bonnen, MD (R-Friendswood), and J.D. Sheffield, DO (R-Gatesville), will join them.

In a tough State Senate race in Fort Worth, Rep. Mark Shelton, MD, lost to incumbent Democratic Sen. Wendy Davis. The vote was close: Only 1,600 votes separated them.

Voters reelected U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess, MD (R-Texas), to another term in Congress.

 Action, Nov. 16, 2012

Published On

November 14, 2012

Related Content