Academic Physicians: Reward Yourself


Have you been working hard teaching for the past three to five years? TMA thinks it’s time to reward yourself. If you are a physician who has taught medical students, residents, or fellows for at least the past three years and you were a TMA member during that time, TMA encourages you to apply for new awards created for doctors like you.

The TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine recognizes teaching physicians who are clinicians and have a record of TMA leadership, scholarly activity, mentoring, professional development, advocacy, and community service.

"TMA is eager to recognize our physician leaders who are dedicated to caring for patients as well as preparing tomorrow' physician workforce," said David P. Wright, MD, chair of the TMA Council on Medical Education. "These awards express the value TMA places on the academic segment of the physician community and the role they play in transforming health care through teaching."


Qualification for bronze- and silver-level awards is through self-nomination. Physicians may download and submit the application by Dec. 31. TMA is developing criteria for gold and platinum levels and will announce them in coming months.

Once TMA verifies your eligibility for a bronze or silver award, you will receive a framed certificate in the mail. In addition, you will receive recognition in Texas Medicine and a mention in the Handbook Report for the next TMA House of Delegates annual meeting. If you have questions, email Jennifer McHaney or call her at (800) 880-1300, ext. 1451, or (512) 370-1451.  

Action, Sept. 17, 2012

Last Updated On

July 20, 2017

Related Content

Academic Physicians