Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC)

Federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) include all organizations receiving grants under section 330 of the Public Health Service Act, certain tribal organizations, and FQHC Look-Alikes. FQHCs qualify for enhanced reimbursement from Medicare and Medicaid, as well as other benefits. FQHCs must serve an underserved area or population, offer a sliding fee scale, provide comprehensive services, have an ongoing quality assurance program, and have a governing board of directors.

FQHC Governing Documents/Grant Applications

Texas Department of Health FQHC Incubator Program  provides Texas General Revenue Funds to support the development of FQHCs through four components: 

  1. Planning Grants
  2. Development Grants
  3. Transitional Operating Support and
  4. Capital Infrastructure Grants

The Incubator Program seeks to increase New Access Point funding as well as funding for Service Expansion and Expanded Medical Capacity. The strategy of the program is to increase local capacity in a sustainable manner. Therefore, the Incubator Program stresses securing FQHC Look-Alike status in the process of pursuing full FQHC funding.

Back to Rural Health