Texas Student Doctor: May 2011

News from the TMA Medical Student Section

MSS Inducts Leadership Honor Society Members   

At TexMed 2010, the TMA Medical Student Section (MSS) created a TMA-MSS Leadership Honor Society to recognize students who have actively increased their participation, outside of medical school, in Texas organized medicine. The intent of this initiative is to increase medical students’ interest in participating in TMA and to increase the retention of medical student members as resident and young physician members.    

Requirements for the TMA-MSS Leadership Honor Society are:    

  • The student must be a medical student in a Texas medical school and a member of TMA. 
  • The student must hold leadership roles that average at least half of the years they spend in medical school (e.g., 2 of 4 years, 3 of 6 years, etc.). 
  • Leadership roles include official chapter, county, and state positions (TMA board, council, or committee positions, MSS Executive Council, chapter positions listed within the chapter bylaws, and county society positions); other positions will be subject to allowance based on the MSS Executive Council’s discretion.  
  • The student must attend at least an average of one TMA conference for each year he or she is enrolled in medical school. 
  • The student must demonstrate good mentorship of fellow medical students. 
  • Nominations and applications must be submitted before TexMed, and inductees will be announced annually at TexMed. 

Accepted members of the Medical Student Section Leadership Honor Society were recognized at TexMed during the MSS business meeting, where they received honor cords provided by TMA. The cords are to be worn by the students at their respective medical school graduation.    

The 2011 inductees into the TMA MSS Leadership Honor Society are: 

  • Ashley Agan, The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (UTMB); 
  • Lena Dixit, Baylor College of Medicine; 
  • John Eakin, Baylor College of Medicine; 
  • Stephanie Howe, Baylor College of Medicine; 
  • Brian Masel, UTMB; 
  • Meredith Williams, Baylor College of Medicine; and 
  • Nathan Wright, The University of Texas Medical School at Houston. 

 Top of page 

BCM Student on Board of Regents   

Congratulations to Baylor College of Medicine student Neil Parikh. He is the new student member of the TMA Board of Trustees.  

  Top of page 

MSS Presents Awards at TexMed   

Congratulations to the winners of the Medical Student Section Awards, presented on May 13 during the TMA House of Delegates meeting at TexMed 2011.   

The winners are:   

Chapter of the Year 
Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. The chapter continued its efforts to provide community service and educational opportunities for students in 2010. The class of 2013 logged more than 4,700 hours of service last year, and the class of 2014 chalked up more than 2,700 hours in only one semester.  

Student of the Year
Kim Hawthorne, The University of Texas Medical School at Houston. She was cited for service and leadership to the chapter. The student nominating her said Ms. Hawthorne "is reliable, effective, and passionate. Her name continues to be raised during discussions about future TMA leaders."   

C. Frank Webber Award
Angela Siler-Fisher, MD, Houston. Dr. Siler-Fisher, an emergency physician, was honored for being a strong advocate for student involvement in TMA. 

  Top of page 

TMLT Scholarships Available   

The Texas Medical Liability Trust (TMLT) will award four $10,000 scholarships in August.    

Recipients will be chosen in a competitive process that weighs students' financial need, along with their ability to evaluate the patient safety concerns in a closed claim study and communicate their recommendations in an essay.   

June 3 is the deadline to apply. Entries will be judged by the TMLT Board of Governors, which is composed of nine Texas physicians. For complete details, review the TMLT Memorial Scholarship Rules and Regulations included with the application [PDF].   

For more information, e-mail William Malamon at TMLT or call him at (800) 580-8658, ext. 5898. 

 Top of page 

AMA-MSS Meeting in Chicago Next Month 

Make your plans to attend the American Medical Association-Medical Student Section Annual Meeting  

next month. It will be June 16-18 at the Hyatt Regency Chicago. Preregistration is closed, but you can register on site.   

Also on tap on June 18 is "Leadership in Health Care Change: If Not Physicians, Then Who?" The presentation will provide practical information to encourage attendees to serve in leadership capacities and further the delivery of quality patient care, which is the foundation of the patient-physician relationship. 

 Top of page  

TMA on Facebook and Twitter

For more inside news about TMA events and issues, become a fan of the Medical Student Section on Facebook.    

You also can stay up-to-date about Texas medicine by subscribing via RSS to Blogged Arteries, which provides breaking news you need to know, and by following @texmed on Twitter.  

  Top of page   

Back Issues of Texas Student Doctor  

Return to Publications Main Page  


Last Updated On

May 13, 2016