Science Teaching Nominations Hit Record

TMA received more than 800 nominations for the 2011 Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching.

The awards reward outstanding elementary, middle, and high school teachers who exhibit a personal commitment and enthusiasm for teaching any area of science. Three teachers will receive $5,000 each, and their schools will receive $2,000 awards. The winners will be honored at TexMed 2011 in Houston. 

The U.T. Charles A. Dana Center has volunteered its science team's expertise to participate as round one judges of the awards. It will determine finalists in each of the three categories, and a three-member TMA Board of Trustees committee will select the winners.

If you know outstanding science teachers in your community, nominate them online for the 2012 award. The deadline is Oct. 16. In addition to the $2,000 previously available to winners, TMA added a second-place prize of $500 per category to be given to the recipients' school science curriculum.

This program's name recognizes the generosity of Dr. and Mrs. Ernest C. Butler of Austin, who established an endowment at the TMA Foundation to provide core support for the award. To be part of the 2012 award program and ensure outstanding science teachers are recognized for their excellence, consider making a donation now to the TMA Foundation.  

Action, March 15, 2011