Biography of TMA President Susan Rudd Bailey, MD

Her inauguration as the 145th Texas Medical Association president is the latest accomplishment in organized medicine for Susan Rudd Bailey, MD.

Dr. Bailey has been active in TMA for years. She chairs TMA's delegation to the American Medical Association's House of Delegates, its governing body. She served as speaker and vice speaker of TMA's House of Delegates. She also has chaired the TMA Council on Communication and the TMA and AMA Medical Student sections.

Dr. Bailey has been a leader in other medical organizations as well. Of note, she was elected to the AMA Council on Medical Education in 2004 and is presently the council's chair. She also serves as the AMA representative to the Assembly of the American Board of Medical Specialties, and recently completed a five-year term on the board of directors of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME). Dr. Bailey has been active in the Tarrant County Medical Society for 20 years, including service as president and chair of the society's board of trustees.

Dr. Bailey is an allergist in private practice at Fort Worth Allergy and Asthma Associates. She previously served as an associate consultant at the Mayo Clinic's department of pediatrics in Rochester, Minn. She is board certified in allergy, and immunology, and pediatrics.

Dr. Bailey received her medical degree from Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine and later served on the A&M Board of Regents. She completed her residency in general pediatrics and her fellowship in allergy/immunology at Minnesota's Mayo Graduate School of Medicine.

Dr. Bailey is married to W. Douglas Bailey, who is active in the TMA Foundation, TMA's philanthropic arm and also is on the TMA Council on Health Promotion. She has two sons, Stephen and Michael Wynn; daughter-in-law Amy; and one granddaughter, Emily, and grandson, Jackson.

List of TMA presidents since 1853

TMA President's main page

Last Updated On

May 17, 2017

Originally Published On

September 13, 2010