2019 Anson Jones, MD, Award Winners

  • TMA Honors Health Reporting Excellence

    MelissaTMA honored journalists who did an outstanding job reporting about health issues with its 62nd Anson Jones, MD, Awards. TMA physicians presented the awards in the journalists’ newsrooms.

    The awards recognize print, broadcast, and online journalists in 11 categories. A 12th category honors physician and medical student journalists. Journalists self-submit their works or are nominated by a TMA Family member.

    The awards are named after pioneer physician, statesman, and prolific writer Anson Jones, MD.

    Pictured: Melissa Fletcher Stoeltje, San Antonio Express-News reporter, repeats as Texas Health Journalist of the Year. Adam Ratner, MD, presents this and other awards to Ms. Stoeltje.

  • Print Category

    Small-Circulation Print Winner
    Erin Mansfield and Kathy Garvin
    Tyler Morning Telegraph

    Small-Circulation Print Honorable Mentions
    Sharon Brooks
    The Examiner, Beaumont

    Pat Kopecki
    Wilson County News

    Large-Circulation Print Winner
    Julie Chang
    Austin American-Statesman

    Large-Circulation Print Honorable Mention
    Melissa Fletcher Stoeltje
    San Antonio Express-News

    In-Depth Print Winner
    J. David McSwane and Andrew Chavez
    The Dallas Morning News

    In-Depth Print Honorable Mentions
    Mary Huber, Christian McDonald, and Ana Ramirez
    Austin American-Statesman

    Melissa Fletcher Stoeltje
    San Antonio Express-News

  • Radio Category

    Short Radio Winner
    Bonnie Petrie
    Texas Public Radio, San Antonio

    In-Depth Radio Winner
    Ashley Lopez
    KUT, Austin

    In-Depth Radio Honorable Mention
    David Martin Davies, Jan Ross Piedad, and Kim Johnson
    Texas Public Radio, San Antonio

  • Television Category

    Small-Market Television Winner
    LaDyrian Cole
    KYTX-TV, CBS19, Tyler

    Large-Market Television Winner
    Christy Millweard and Konner Barrick
    KVUE-TV, Austin

    Large-Market Television Honorable Mention
    Bianca Castro and Linda Angelle
    KXAS-TV NBC 5, Dallas-Fort Worth

    In-Depth Television Winner
    Jody Barr, Chad Cross, Ben Friberg, and Josh Hinkle
    KXAN-TV, Austin

    In-Depth Television Honorable Mention
    Bianca Castro and Linda Angelle
    KXAS-TV NBC 5, Dallas-Fort Worth

  • Online/Mixed Media Category

    Online Single Article/Blog Winner
    Shanley Pierce
    TMC News

    Online/Mixed Media Package Winner
    Laura Beil

    Online/Mixed Media Package Honorable Mention
    Melissa Fletcher Stoeltje, Ron Cortes, Kin Man Hui, Lisa Krantz, Annie Millerbernd, and Luke Whyte
    San Antonio Express-News

  • Physician Excellence in Reporting Category

    Mary Ann Rodriguez, MD

    Honorable Mention
    Raymond L. Fowler, MD
    UT Southwestern Medical Center Newsroom