• Medical Student Section

    • What is the Medical Student Section?

      TMA created the Medical Student Section (MSS) in the late 1970s to gain a student perspective among members and provide future physicians with a voice in TMA policy. This organized membership section helps focus attention on issues unique to Texas' students and provides a forum for students to communicate with each other.

      Now over 4,800 members strong, the TMA-MSS section helps shape the future of medicine as members participate in the TMA and American Medical Association policy-making process and serve in slotted seats on boards, councils, and committees. In addition to the 63 slotted positions, the MSS also has a voting representative on the TMA Board of Trustees. TMA student members also are actively involved in their local county medical societies.

  • Medical Student Section News and Information

    • TMA-MSS Leadership

      The Texas Medical Association Medical Student Section (TMA-MSS) Executive Council (EC) is elected annually to direct the activities of the section at the state level. Congratulations to the 2015-2016 TMA-MSS EC.  

    • Save the Date

      Save the date for the next Medical Student Section meeting during TMA's Fall Conference, Sept. 25-26 in Bastrop. The TMA-MSS Business meeting is scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 26, at 12:30 pm. Conference attendance is free for all TMA members.


    • Board, Council and Committee Reps

      Medical student representatives and alternates representatives are appointed to serve one-year terms on association boards, councils, and committees. Applications are open for the 2015-2016 term. To apply, submit an application to your Section Coordinator by April 15.
    • Leadership Honor Society

      The TMA-MSS Leadership Honor Society recognizes forth year medical students that have actively participated in Texas organized medicine. Submit an application to your Section Coordinator by April 15 for recognition.
  • Section Resources

  • Section Awards

    • The TMA Medical Student Section awards three section awards annually in conjunction with our Annual Meeting.

      The TMA Medical Student Section awards three section awards annually in conjunction with TMA's Annual Meeting.

      Chapter of the Year - The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston;

      Student of the Year - Kayla Riggs, UT Houston; and 

      C. Frank Webber, MD Award - Russell W. H. Kridel, MD, Houston.  

      Applications for the 2016 awards will be accepted starting in October 2015.



  • Medical Students Educational Courses