## Texas Medical Association 2014 Advocacy Retreat

## Barton Creek Resort • Austin Dec. 5-6, 2014



Physicians Caring for Texans

## Friday, Dec. 5

10 am-2:15 pm	<b>TMA Task Force on Behavioral Health</b> Palm Court, Clubhouse
10 am-7 pm	Registration Conference Lobby
11:30 am-3 pm	Board of Trustees Meeting Barton Creek AB
Noon-3 pm	TMA Alliance Leadership Meeting Houston Room
1-3 pm	<b>TEXPAC Board and Committee on Membership Joint Meeting</b> Barton Creek C
3-5 pm	<b>TEXPAC Patron and Capitol Club – Political Update</b> Rayburn Room
3-5 pm	<b>TMA-CMS Leadership Forum</b> Live Oak A
4-5 pm	<b>Coalition for Patient Safety</b> Barton Creek A
5:30-6 pm	<b>Reception</b> Wildflower Atrium
6-8:30 pm	<b>Dinner – Update on the Political Landscape and Session Preview</b> Darrell Royal Ballroom James R. Henson, PhD Director of Texas Politics Report, College of Liberal Arts, The University of Texas at Austin
	(continued on back)









## Saturday, Dec. 6

7:30 am-1:30 pm	<b>Registration</b> Darrell Royal Ballroom Foyer
8-8:45 am	General Session – <i>Healthy Vision 2020</i> and TMA Legislative Issues Discussion Darrell Royal Ballroom Dawn Buckingham, MD TMA Lobby Staff
9-9:45 am	<b>Breakout 1: First Tuesdays – Lobby 101</b> Darrell Royal Ballroom <sup>Susan Todd</sup>
9-9:45 am	Breakout 2: Media Training for Specialty Society Leaders Live Oak C Pam Udall
10-10:45 am	Breakout 1: TEXPAC 101 Darrell Royal Ballroom Jerry Hunsaker, MD Arlo Weltge, MD Clayton Stewart
10-10:45 am	Breakout 2: Social Media and Advocacy: How to Be a Great Citizen-Lobbyist, Every Day, From Your Smartphone Live Oak C Bradford Holland, MD Steve Levine
11 am-12:30 pm	General Session – Specialty Society Legislative Initiatives Darrell Royal Ballroom Moderator – Jeffrey Kahn, MD
	<ul> <li>Texas Academy of Family Physicians – Tricia C. Elliott, MD</li> <li>Texas Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Society – Louise H. Bethea, MD</li> <li>Texas Association of Otolaryngology – Bradford Holland, MD</li> <li>Texas Chapter of the American College of Cardiology – John Erwin III, MD</li> <li>Texas Chapter of the American College of Physicians – Sue Bornstein, MD</li> <li>Texas College of Emergency Physicians – Diana Fite, MD</li> <li>Texas Dermatological Society – Dayna G. Diven, MD</li> <li>Texas Medical Group Management Association – Eric Weaver</li> <li>Texas Orthopaedic Association – Sidney Gicheru, MD</li> <li>Texas Orthopaedic Association – Omer Ilahi, MD</li> <li>Texas Radiological Society – Tilden L. Childs III, MD, FACR</li> <li>Texas Society of Gastroenterology and Endoscopy – William Kern Deschner, MD</li> <li>Texas Society of Pathologists – Tim Allen, MD</li> <li>Texas Society of Plastic Surgeons – Tom Weiner, MD</li> <li>Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians – Tim Allen, MD</li> </ul>
12:30 – 1:45 pm	Luncheon – Legislative Panel Pavilion Moderator – Arlo Weltge, MD Sen. Donna Campbell, MD Rep. Greg Bonnen, MD

Rep. J.D. Sheffield, DO Rep. John Zerwas, MD