Now Accepting Silver Level Applications!

Submit your Silver Level application by 5 pm (CDT) on December 6, 2013!

Submit your Silver Level application, and give TMA the opportunity to recognize you for excellence in academic medicine! The Silver Recognition Award is designed for physicians who have committed time to both academic and organized medicine.  To be eligible, you must have at least 5 years of service in an academic faculty position and maintained active membership in TMA for the last 5 years.  

Download a Silver Level application (PDF)
Compare criteria with other levels
Submit your Silver Level application   

General Criteria (minimums)

Newly Revised Criteria
The TMA Subcommittee for Academic Physicians took to heart the feedback provided after the inaugural 2012-13 award cycle and reduced the minimum requirements.  We encourage you to take another look at the eligibility criteria and consider applying.   

  • Years in an academic faculty position: 5 within the past 10 years
  • Years of supervision of students/residents/fellows: 5 within the past 10 years
  • Number of TMA meetings/events attended: 5
  • Years of active TMA membership: past 5 years
  • Performance Milestones completed:
  • Role Modeling in Leadership, Advocacy/Health Policy and Community Service activities completed: 2

Performance Milestones 
You must have completed at least 5 of the activities below, with activities from at least 2 of the 3 categories:

Scholarly Activity

  • Prepared and successfully presented as part of a workshop, seminar, or research presentation at a peer-reviewed and/or CME-accredited local, state, or national meeting; 
  • Served as the author or co-author of publication(s) in a refereed scientific journal or textbook chapter; 


  • Mentored students, residents, fellows or faculty members; 

Professional Development/Recognition

  •  Completed an academic fellowship focused on teaching, medical education, quality improvement, advocacy, or executive leadership development;
  •  Received a local, state, or national award of distinction for teaching, patient care, research, or service; or
  •  Completed a formal professional development course or program, including certificate or degree programs. 

Role Modeling, Leadership and Community Service
You must have completed at least 1 of the 2 activities below:

Service to Organized Medicine

  • Served as a TMA and/or local county medical society president, member of the TMA or AMA House of Delegates, or officer or member of a board/council/ committee or ad hoc group within TMA or a county medical society; or 
  • Served in one or more of the following roles in a governing position within another organization of organized medicine (e.g., specialty society, academic physician group) as president; delegate to a policy-making body such as a house of delegates; or an officer or member of a board/council/ committee or ad hoc group within another organization of organized medicine. 

AND  completed at least 1 of the additional activities below: 

Participation in Advocacy for Organized Medicine:  

  • Communicated with at least one legislative or congressional member (local, state, or federal government) or a key member of their staff, regarding TMA priorities; 
  •  Participation in an organized medicine Capitol “advocacy day;” or 

Participation in Community Service:

  • Had involvement in community activities, programs, and/or non-profit organizations that impact the health and welfare of the community.  

Award Overview

Nominations: Self-nominating only

Recognition received: Recognition in TMA’s award-winning news magazine, Texas Medicine, the monthly e-newsletter, It’s Academic, and in the Handbook Report for the next scheduled TMA House of Delegates annual meeting.  Invitation to attend TMA Council on Medical Education meeting at TexMed to receive framed certificate.  (If preferred, certificates can be mailed to recipients.)

Selection process:
Complete an application form and meet all eligibility requirements above. All applications are subject to review by the selection committee appointed by the TMA Council on Medical Education and Subcommittee for Academic Physicians, at their next meeting on Jan. 31, 2014.  You will be notified of your eligibility for recognition soon thereafter. 

Number of recipients:

Application deadline:
5pm (CST) December 6, 2013  

Award date:
Award ceremonies at TexMed 2014 conference in Fort Worth, Texas on May 1-2, 2014.

TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine - Home 
Download a Silver Level application (PDF)
Bronze Level eligibility information and application 
Gold Level eligibility information and application  
Compare criteria with other levels
View Complete Award Criteria (PDF)
Submit your Silver Level application

PLEASE NOTE: To qualify for the award program, applicants must have active, paid membership in TMA. If you have not had active, paid TMA membership for the prescribed amount of time specified in the criteria for each level, you will NOT be eligible and should not apply.  

Please direct any questions about the program, and submit your completed application to:

Jennifer McHaney, Coordinator, TMA Medical Education Department
401 W. 15th St.; Austin, TX 78701
(512) 370-1451




Comment on this (Must be logged in to comment)

Add Comment

Text Only 2000 character limit

Looking for more?