Texas Medical Students Honor Lubbock Physician, Educator

May 17, 2013

Lubbock physician Steven L. Berk, MD, received the 2013 C. Frank Webber, MD, Award for his commitment to the education of tomorrow’s physicians. Dr. Berk was recognized by the Texas Medical Association (TMA) Medical Student Section during TMA’s annual conference in San Antonio.

“I am honored to receive the C. Frank Webber Award,” said Dr. Berk. “Never has it been more important for medical students to become engaged in understanding and molding the health care system that they will inherit. I will continue to encourage and appreciate the work of our medical students in TMA activities.”

As dean of the School of Medicine, executive vice president, and provost at the Texas Tech University Health Science Center (TTUHSC), Dr. Berk “does everything possible to produce shining examples of future physicians,” said nominating medical student and TMA member Brittany N. Rosales. “He serves as a role model to fortify student interest in all aspects of the contemporary medical practice: healing, research advocacy, policymaking, and education,” added Ms. Rosales.

In addition to his duties as dean, Dr. Berk works to involve students in their community and in organized medicine. He has co-chaired the March of Dimes March for Babies, helped students promote the Lubbock City Lights charity gala, and lends financial assistance so students can participate in TMA and American Medical Association conferences and student chapters.

A graduate of Boston University School of Medicine, Dr. Berk is board certified in internal medicine and infectious diseases. Before his position at TTUHSC, Dr. Berk joined the East Tennessee State University (ETSU) James H. Quillen College of Medicine and rose to chair of the Department of Medicine, a position he held for 11 years.

Dr. Berk’s superior teaching and service to medical students has earned him several awards, including 10 James H. Quillen College of Medicine’s Teacher of the Year awards, both ETSU’s and TTUHSC’s Distinguished Service Award, and the 2012 Boston University Distinguished Alumni Award. In 2011, Dr. Berk’s book, Anatomy of a Kidnapping, his firsthand account of surviving an abduction, won the ForeWord Reviews Book of the Year award.

Created in 1987, the C. Frank Webber, MD, Award is named after the late Texas family physician and educator C. Frank Webber, MD, former dean of The University of Texas Medical School at Houston. Dr. Webber’s efforts prompted the development of the strong student organization within TMA.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 47,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 112 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans. 



Contact: Pam Udall (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 413-6807; email: pam.udall@texmed.org
Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email: brent.annear@texmed.org  

 Click here to follow TMA on Twitter. Or visit TMA on Facebook

Check out MeAndMyDoctor.com for interesting and timely news on health care issues and policy.

Comment on this (Must be logged in to comment)

Add Comment

Text Only 2000 character limit

Looking for more?