Nominate Local Stories for Anson Jones Award

For the first time, members of the TMA family can nominate local journalists for the TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards, which recognize excellence in health journalism in Texas. So if you see or hear an outstanding health-related TV or radio news story, or read a top-notch news article or blog, let TMA know.

For more than 50 years, TMA has honored award-winning Texas journalists with the Anson Jones, MD, Awards. Until this year, only journalists could submit their work for the awards. Now, TMA physician members, medical students, county medical societies, and TMA Alliance members can nominate them.

The competition features 11 award categories for reporting in print, broadcast (television and radio), and online media, plus a Texas Health Journalist of the Year award. TMA also recognizes physician-reporters with the Physician Excellence in Reporting category. So nominate your colleagues' outstanding journalism, too.

Submit nominations all year to Be sure to provide the reporter's name, date of broadcast/publication, and media outlet. TMA will alert the reporter to your nomination and urge him or her to complete an award application.

If you have questions, call Tammy Wishard, TMA's outreach coordinator, at (800) 880-1300 ext. 1470, or (512) 370-1470.

Action, March 1, 2013

Comment on this (Must be logged in to comment)

Add Comment

Text Only 2000 character limit

Looking for more?