Registering deaths electronically – required by state law – is one of the topics to be covered in seminars the Texas Public Health Association and the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Vital Statistics Unit will conduct in five cities next month. The seminars will be in Waco, July 11; Abilene, July 13; Nacogdoches, July 15; Galveston, July 18; and Laredo, July 20.
Physicians may earn 1.5 hours of continuing medical education credit by attending the seminar.
Doctors who do not use the Texas Electronic Registrar (TER) Death Registration system to register patient deaths are subject to a $500 fine by the Texas Medical Board. DSHS officials say registering deaths electronically is faster and less susceptible to fraud than is paper registration.
Click on the seminars link above to register. For information about registration, contact Terri Pali at (512) 336-2520, or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Action, June 15, 2011